Watershed Planning Council

The District has worked with communities to create Watershed Planning Councils. These planning councils represent communities located within major watersheds in Cook County, and communicate the needs and interests of the members of the public and local governments to the MWRD. Currently there are six watershed planning councils: Lower Des Plaines River, Poplar Creek, Upper Salt Creek, Little Calumet River, Cal-Sag Channel, and the North Branch of the Chicago River. An additional planning council will be created for the combined sewer areas within Cook County as well.

Cal-Sag Channel
Little Calumet River
Lower Des Plaines River
North Branch of the Chicago River
Poplar Creek
Upper Salt Creek