METROPOLITAN WATER RECLAMATION DISTRICT OF GREATER CHICAGO MINUTES OF THE CIVIL SERVICE BOARD MEETING OF JUNE 12, 2024

Board Members Present:	John S. Kendall, Chairman Karina Ayala-Bermejo, Vice Chairman Donald J. Storino, Secretary
Others Present:	Ted Kosowski, Director of Human Resources Robert Byrne, Human Resources Manager Richard Demsch, Senior Human Resources Analyst Nina Brody, Human Resources Analyst Jay Henderson, Human Resources Analyst Sean Kelly, Director of Information Technology James Murray, Head Assistant Attorney Joseph Cook, Principal Attorney Elizabeth Fragale, Principal Attorney Gina Lencioni, Senior Attorney Seth Rosenberg, Senior Attorney Liam Reardon, Senior Attorney Michelle Valdez, Legal Assistant Ramone Adams, Appellant Cynthia Crump, Appellant Frank Avila, Attorney Larry Malone, Appellant Chentile Jackson, Appellant Sergio Senese, Appellant Sergio Senese, Appellant Daniel Kelley, Attorney Roe Magnabosco, Respondent Stephen Boulton, Attorney Phyllis Stopka, Appellant Juan Saucedo, Police Lieutenant Lemar Phillips, Police Sergeant Thomas Smith, Police Officer Michael Krueger, Police Officer Christina Arvis, Clerk of the Civil Service Board Ron Jones, Observer

The meeting was convened at approximately 10:00 AM with Chairman John S. Kendall presiding.

The minutes of the regular meeting of May 22, 2024 were approved.

The minutes of the executive session of May 22, 2024 were approved.

There was no public comment.

The Motion to Preserve and Release Certain Executive Session Minutes was granted.

Metropolitan Water Reclamation District Civil Service Board – Minutes of June 12, 2024 Page 2 of 3

Findings and Decisions

Ramone Adams Case No. 23-20	The Board issued a Decision denying Ramone Adams' appeal.
Ramone Adams Case No. 24-01	The Board issued a Decision denying Ramone Adams' appeal.

The preliminary call of hearings revealed:

Cynthia Crump	Oral argument set for 10:15 AM.
Larry Malone	Larry Malone was not in attendance. Passed until the end of the call.
Fernand Fortier III	Continued to July 17, 2024 for status and tentatively set for hearing on August 21, 2024.
Ann Ko	Ann Ko was ordered to tender her discovery and witness list to the District by July 10, 2024. Continued to July 17, 2024 for status.
Chentile Jackson	Continued to July 17, 2024 for status.
Sergio Senese	Continued to August 21, 2024 for status.
Roe Magnabosco	Set for hearing on July 17, 2024.

The attendance and performance review for Phyllis Stopka reported that Phyllis Stopka was in compliance. Phyllis Stopka's Appeal, Case No. 23-11, was withdrawn.

The attendance and performance review for Michael Baker reported that Michael Baker was in compliance.

Mr. Kosowski reported that since the last meeting of the Board, there had been twenty-six (26) requests for leaves of absence, which the Board ratified.

Mr. Kosowski reported that since the last meeting of the Board, there were ten (10) expired eligible lists.

Mr. Kosowski reported that since the last meeting of the Board, there were four (4) terminations of probation.

Larry Malone was ordered to tender all of his discovery by July 10, 2024. Continued to August 21, 2024 for status.
 Ramone Adams was in attendance and given copies of the Decisions in his appeal cases.

Metropolitan Water Reclamation District Civil Service Board – Minutes of June 12, 2024 Page 3 of 3

The Board recessed the meeting at approximately 10:19 AM The Board commenced the oral arguments at approximately 10:19 AM

Cynthia Crump Seth Rosenberg, counsel for the District, presented arguments in favor of the Motion for Summary Judgment. Frank Avila, attorney for Cynthia Crump, presented arguments against the Motion for Summary Judgment. Discussion ensued between Seth Rosenberg, Frank Avila and the Board.

The Board adjourned the oral arguments at approximately 10:36 AM to an executive session. The Board resumed the meeting at approximately 10:47 AM.

Cynthia Crump

The Board denied Cynthia Crump's appeal.

The Board adjourned the meeting at approximately 10:50 AM.

John S. Ker Chairman

Dated: June 12, 2024

Sen

Karina Ayala-Bermejo Vice Chairman

Donald J. Storino Secretary