

## 2023 REPORT OF THE FULTON COUNTY ENVIRONMENTAL PROTECTION SYSTEM

By

Benjamin Morgan Environmental Soil Scientist

Albert Cox Environmental Monitoring and Research Manager

Monitoring and Research Department Edward W. Podczerwinski, Director

January 2024



## Metropolitan Water Reclamation District of Greater Chicago

CECIL LUE-HING RESEARCH AND DEVELOPMENT COMPLEX 6001 WEST PERSHING ROAD CICERO, ILLINOIS 60804-4112

## Edward W. Podczerwinski, P.E.

Director of Monitoring and Research

January 9, 2024

Ms. Catherine Siders Illinois Environmental Protection Agency Bureau of Water DWPC Compliance Section #19 1021 North Grand Avenue East P.O. Box 19276 Springfield, Illinois 62794-9274

Dear Ms. Siders:

Subject: Metropolitan Water Reclamation District of Greater Chicago – 2023 Report of the Fulton County Environmental Protection System Under Permit No. 2018-SC-63477

This letter transmits information for the 2023 report of the Fulton County Environmental Protection System under Permit No. 2018-SC-63477. No biosolids data are reported because supernatant and biosolids applications were terminated in 1995 and 2004, respectively. Termination of monitoring of soil, crops, and surface water and groundwater sites was approved by the Illinois Environmental Protection Agency in September 2006 and the coal refuse areas in July 2007. Therefore, no environmental monitoring was required during this period.

Very truly yours,

Albert Con

Albert Cox, Ph.D. Environmental Monitoring and Research Manager Monitoring and Research Department

AC:lf Mr. J. Colletti, USEPA Region 5 Mr. R. Bahr, USEPA Region 5 Ms. L. Holst, USEPA Region 5 IEPA Permit Section, Springfield Chairman of the Fulton County Board Fulton County Board of Health Fulton County Zoning Office Mr. J. Murray/Mr. A. Gronski/Mr. A. Laban Mr. N. Dorigan/Mr. E. Podczerwinski

## BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS

Kari K. Steele President Patricia Theresa Flynn Vice President Marcelino Garcia Chairman of Finance Precious Brady-Davis Yumeka Brown Cameron Davis Daniel Pogorzelski Eira L. Corral Sepúlveda Mariyana T. Spyropoulos